25
Sep
14

It’s all downhill from here

Every once in a while, I glide down a downhill stretch of road and think, “I wish it was always this easy.”

On Saturday, it will be. For 13.1 miles.

The Dixville (N.H.) Half Marathon will be my destination, part of a weekend where my family will make one last visit to our cabin in the Great North Woods of New Hampshire before closing it up for the winter.

The half marathon will be my first race since March, which was also a half. And my first since having my appendix taken out in April. The foliage will be at near-peak level and the weather the same: 75 and sunny. A huge plus after spending 4th of July weekend up there when temps were in the 60s.

Another big plus in the race’s profile.

Starting at Coleman State Park – west of Dixville – the course is almost completely downhill. By the time runners finish in Colebrook just off Rte. 3, they will have lost 1,400 feet of elevation. That’s more than 100 feet per mile.

It’s a lot like the Mt. Washington Road Race: just one hill. Only in reverse.

I’m not in great “racing shape,” but the past few weeks I’ve been able to get in some quality tempo runs. And every time I approach a downhill section, I gun it.

 

Yet another plus is that the race finishes at the North Country Community Rec Center in Colebrook, where showers and a pool await. A shower is going to feel awfully good after 13 sweaty miles.

And yes, there’s another bonus: the race fee is just 30 bucks.

Just one hill and plenty of frills. My kind of race.

0 Responses to “It’s all downhill from here”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

